Breakfast Hash

No DIY today, and I hesitate to even call this a recipe. Here’s one of my favourite breakfasts of late: hash with egg on top.

Breakfast hash

Just looking at it is making me salivate.

Basically it’s just a combination of whatever veggies you have on hand, mixed together in a bowl, bound with a little milk if needed. The most common things I include are:

  • mashed potato
  • mashed sweet potato
  • corn
  • mushrooms
  • onion
  • capsicum
  • carrot
  • snow peas
  • lentils
  • spinach
  • radish

…really, whatever you have in your fridge is going to work just fine (as long as you have some sort of vegetables in there). I always like to have either regular or mashed potato however, to help it all clump together.

Then the fun stuff: a bit of a grated cheese and some chopped bacon (completely optional). Mix together add a few spices (basil, coriander, chilli, paprika), then either fry or bake in oven (depending on how much time you have – my oven takes forever to heat up so I often go the frying route if I forget to pre-heat whilst doing all the prep).

Top with a fried egg and its a tasty, filling, veggie laded breakfast. No bread needed! And that’s a big thing coming from a bread-addict like myself!

If I manage to get my act together I may even try to prepare a big batch of this at the start of the week so all I have to do each morning is cook it all up – no chopping and stirring. Mornings are not my strong point so anything that makes them less painful has got to be a good thing.

Leave a Reply

