Plu-what?

Until a few days ago, I’d never even heard of a pluot. Blissful in my ignorance of this apricot-plum hybrid, I idly perused the aisles of my local fruit & veg shop.

The first thing that caught my eye was a peach that looked like a miniature pumpkin (sorry can’t remember the name). Second thing was a pluot, which I initially thought was a nice big looking plum.

Pluot

After seeing the weird name, I was intruiged and bought 2. And the verdict? Yum. To be honest I think it tastes more plummy than apricotty, and if I didn’t know otherwise I’d just assume its a variety of plum.  But its nice and firm and juicy and sweet, so what’s to complain about?

Here’s some other ideas of what to do with pluots, other than gobbling them down after walking the dog and before procrastinating on going for a run.

Five ways with Pluots

Leave a Reply

